Home | Reviews | Articles | Festivals | Competitions | Other | Contact Us

Jacob van Eyck: Daphne

Philis schoone Herderinne (François de Chancy - En vain je veux celer)
Repicavan (Etienne Moulinié - Repicavan las campanillas)
Doen Daphne d'over schoone Maeght
Malle Symen
The Earl of Essex, his Galliard (John Dowland)
L'Amie Cillae
Amarilli mia bella (Giulio Caccini)
Fantasia & eco
Pavaen Lachrymae (John Dowland - Flow my tears)
Engels Nachtegaeltje
Fantasia & eco
Excusemoy (John Dowland - Can she excuse)
Psalm 9 (J.P. Sweelinck - De tout mon coeurt t'exalteray)
Courant (John Dowland - Now, o now I needs must part)

Anthonello & Yoshimichi Hamada

enchiriadis EN 2020 [65 mins]

Jacob van Eyck (c.1590-1657) was a noted carrilonneur who is famous for his collection of 147 tunes The Flute's Garden of Delights from all over Europe, presented with ornamentation or variations (in current terminology); 'the last cultivator of the unadorned melody' (Raoul Mailavbarena).

Yoshimichi Hamada is an extraordinarily gifted player of flutes and recorder (doubling on cornetto) and this is a wholly delectable sequence of pieces, some of them with accompaniments from his Japanese colleagueson viola da gamba, double harp, and various flutes/recorders in duet. He displays consummate ease on all the instruments, with a captivating freedom of expressive phrasing.

This is definitely a disc for recorder players and lovers of that one time humble instrument to seek out.

Peter Grahame Woolf