Home | Reviews | Articles | Festivals | Competitions | Other | Contact Us

Bussotti: il catalogo é questo

1- I. Opus Cygne

II. Ragramma
2- Ragramma
3- L’Enfant prodige
4- Paganini
5- Calando Symphony

III. Trittico
6- Intermezzo
7- Timpani
8- Fiorentinata
IV. Poemi
A Fiiesole un poema giovanile)

Ensemble vocal Aquarius & Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg/Arturo Tamayo

Timpani - 2C2114 (2 discs - 74’12 + 54’27)

Sylvano Bussotti (b. 1931) is a modern eclectic composer (also known as a film director, an actor and singer who has worked in Paris and Berlin; famous in Italy's avant garde circles but not that well known in UK.

He has drawn on Schoenberg’s legacy as well as that of the Italian Renaissance masters and this composite work, completed gradually over many years, is perhaps his major testimony? The 2008 recording was made in Luxembourg with the composer in attendance.

The music is intriguing, indeed seductive, on its surface and Bussotti has good command of orchestral colour. The notes consist of a tribute from a friend, without solid information, and they are unhelpful to the British newcomer and prospective purchaser.

Most unfortunately, we are not given the texts of the important vocal parts for vocal and speaking soloists and chorus nor, as is Timpani's way, are there any translations of the songs and narrations on their website.

In those circumstances, all I can say is try sampling the music of il catalogo é questo somewhere before purchasing.*


Peter Grahame Woolf

*Musical Pointers is always in need of experienced reviewrs for contemporary music.