Home | Reviews | Articles | Festivals | Competitions | Other | Contact Us

Tansman - Symphonies Volume 4

Sinfonietta No. 1
Sinfonia piccolo
Symphonie de chambre
Sinfonietta No. 2

Radio Svizzera di lingua italiana, Oleg Caetani

Chandos CHAN 10574

A welcome release of smaller symphonic music by Alexandre Tansman (1897-1986), long under a cloud after doctrinaire serialism made his light treatment of neo-classical idiom go out of fashion.

These works have more in common with each other than contrast, despite their compositions spanning half a century (1924-1978) and the vicissitudes of his difficult life, as a Polish Jew living in Paris during the War, forced to seek refuge in California, finally rediscovered by Polish Radio (Sinfonietta No 2, 1978 - Czajowski "the only Polish conductor who knows that I exist (or existed)".

This disc is of unquestionable historical interest and entertainment value too.

It might lead you to explore the larger works in this Chandos/Radio Italian Swiss project, presented to best advantage by Oleg Caetani and with comprehensive notes by Maja Trochimczyk and the conductor.

Peter Grahame Woolf