Home | Reviews | Articles | Festivals | Competitions | Other | Contact Us

Claudio MONTEVERDI (1567 - 1643)

Il quinto libro de madrigali
1. Questi vaghi concenti [7:06]
2. T’amo, mia vita! {2:53]
Il sesto libro de madrigali (1614)
3. Ohimè il bel viso [4:51]
4. Zefiro torna, e’l bel tempo rimena [3:29]
Scherzi musicali cioè arie, & madrigali in stil recitativo … (1632)
5. Zefiro torna, e di soavi accenti [6:13]
Concerto. Settimo libro de madrigali [1619)
6. Ohimè, dov’è il mio ben? [4:44]
Quattro scherze delle ariose vaghezze … (1624)
7. Si dolce è’l tormento [4:27]
Madrigali guerrieri, et amorosi … Libro ottavo (1638)
8. Or che ‘l ciel w la Guerra [7:25]
9. Gira il nemico insidioso [5:42]
10. Ballo delle Ingrate [32:04]

I Fagiolini; Barokksolistene/Robert Hollingworth

rec. Church of St Michael and All Angels, Summertown, Oxford, 27 - 29 January 2009


A superb Monteverdi/I Fagiolini disc, received in conjunction with their Lufthansa Festival concert which climaxed with the extensive scena Ballo delle Ingrate, which is also the chief item on this disc, dominated by the sonorous bass of Jonathan Sells. I Fagiolini emphasise the dramatic possibilities inherent in Monteverdi's madrigals, and this compilation is a roler-coaster of intense emotions.

Compelling from beginning to end, it makes a good companion the the more sober series from Concerto Italiano/Rinaldo Alessandrini - e.g. their Il sesto libro which has a couple of duplicates here.

Riches galore for those who may not have come under the spell of this music yet!

Peter Grahame Woolf