Home | Reviews | Articles | Festivals | Competitions | Other | Contact Us

TCHAIKOVSKY piano concertos

Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor; Concert Fantasia in G major;
Solitude & None But the Lonely Heart (arr. Hough);
Piano Concerto No. 2 in G major; Piano Concerto No. 3 in E flat major
Piano Concerto No. 2 (Andante non troppo ed. Siloti)
Piano Concerto No. 2 (Andante non troppo ed. Hough)

Stephen Hough (piano)
Jorja Fleezanis (violin)*; Anthony Ross (cello)

Minnesota Orchestra/Osmo Vänskä
rec. live, Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA, 2009


I don't often listen to standard romantic symphonies and concertos at home (with so much wonderful unknown music to experience, life's too short !).

For the Tchaikovsky piano concertos, I've admired Pletnev's set, also live recordings. Hough's new set is admirable, he's extraordinarily secure and these are fine performances underpinned by some additional research and "extras". There are two additional versions of the slow movement of No 2, one an arrangement by Siloti, the other Hough's own.

For the latest, a decade on from Pletnev's, this is the one for your collection.

Peter Grahame Woolf

For a very full appreciation of this important release, I defer to Music Web.